Sentinel Project: Politburo of the Communist Party of China

The Politburo, previously known as the Central Committee, is a group of 25 members who oversee and dictate the policies of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP). Members are elected through deliberations by Politburo members and retired Politburo Standing Committee (PSC) members. The true power of the Politburo is centralized within the PSC, a small group of the most powerful members of the CCP.  The Politburo derives its power from the fact that its members simultaneously hold state positions in People’s Republic of China, and thus have access to the government agencies and departments. From Open Source Intelligence, it appears as though the group meets once a month, while the PSC meets at least once a week. ​ The current members of the Politburo include Xi JinpingLi Keqiang, Li Zhanshu, Wang Yang, Zhao Leji, Wang Huning, Liu He, Han Zheng, Ding Xuexiang, Wang Chen, Xu Qiliang, Sun Chunlan, Li Xi, Li Qiang, Li Hongzhong, Hu Chunhua, Yang Jiechi, Yang Xiaodu, Zhang Youxia, Chen Xi, Chen Quanguo, Chen Min’er, Guo Shengkun, Huang Kunming, and Cai Qi.

Last updated on Sunday, July 5, 2020.